Patrik Leitner also at the European Cup

triathlon-austria-wels-patrik leitner

With Patrik Leitner, Tri Team 1. USC Traun presents another young hope at the "starlim Junior Europacup" in Wels. As winner of the youth class at the ÖTRV-Swim & Run in April in Südstadt, Patrik qualified for the European Championships in Alanya and thus also fulfils the standard for participation in the Junior European Cup races.

With the swimming performance of 9:02min over 800m shown there, the young triathlete now also holds the record for the fastest swimming time ever swum at this event.

Patrik started swimming training at the club at the age of six and was already very keen on sports at a young age. Subsequently, Patrik was also part of the Tri Kids group of the 1. USC Traun and, in addition to swimming competitions, he gained his first experience in various triathlon competitions of the Upper Austrian Power Kids Cup and later in national junior competitions.

In 2019, the now 17-year-old transferred to the talent centre in Linz, where he now has the opportunity to combine school with training. Already after the first year he became a member of the ÖTRV junior cadre due to his good performances.

"I am really looking forward to doing one of my first European Cups here in Wels, especially as it is ideally located because of the proximity to my hometown Traun. From my point of view, the race will be very exciting, because the swimming in the river is a constellation I have never seen before," said the young talent.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Patrik Leitner auch beim Europacup

triathlon-austria-wels-patrik leitner

Mit Patrik Leitner stellt das Tri Team 1. USC Traun eine weitere Nachwuchshoffnung beim „starlim Junioren Europacup“ in Wels. Als Sieger der Jugendklasse beim ÖTRV-Swim & Run im April in der Südstadt qualifizierte sich Patrik für die Europameisterschaften in Alanya und erfüllt somit auch die Norm für die Teilnahme an den Junioren-Europacup Rennen.

Mit der dort gezeigten Schwimmleistung von 9:02min auf 800m hält der junge Triathlet nun auch den Rekord für die schnellste Schwimmzeit, die bei diesem Wettkampf jemals geschwommen wurde.

Patrik startete bereits im Alter von sechs Jahren mit dem Schwimmtraining im Verein und war in jungen Kindesjahren schon sehr sportbegeistert. In Folge war Patrik auch Teil der Tri Kidsgruppe des 1. USC Traun und zusätzlich zu den Schwimmwettkämpfen sammelte er erste Erfahrungen bei diversen Triathlonbewerben des OÖ Power Kids Cups und später bei nationalen Nachwuchsbewerben.

2019 wechselte der heute 17-Jährige ins Talentezentrum in Linz, wo er nun die Möglichkeit hat Schule mit Training zu verbinden. Schon nach dem ersten Jahr wurde er aufgrund seiner guten Leistungen Mitglied des ÖTRV-Nachwuchs-Kaders.

„Ich freue mich schon sehr einen meiner ersten Europacups hier in Wels machen zu dürfen, vor allem da es wegen der Nähe zu meiner Heimatstadt Traun ideal liegt. Das Rennen wird aus meiner Sicht sehr spannend, da es durch das Schwimmen im Fluss eine für mich noch nie dagewesene Konstellation darstellt“, so dass Nachwuchstalent.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.