Organising club 1. WSK cheers

Triathlet Thomas Windischbauer jubelt

Thomas Windischbauer from the 1. Welser Schwimmklub has fulfilled the standard for the Junior European Cup in Wels. The OC team of the starlim City Triathlon Austria Wels cheers: "Unbelievable that we are now allowed to present a triathlete from our own ranks in addition to hosting the J-EC!"

The 1st Wels Swimming Club, which organises the "starlim City TRIATHLON AUSTRIA Wels" and in the framework of it also the Junior European Cup, followed today's ÖTRV Cup in the Südstadt with excitement. At the Swim&Run competition of the Austrian Triathlon Federation limit times were required in the individual disciplines and for the overall time. Among them was 17-year-old 1. WSK athlete Thomas Windischbauer, who has fulfilled the standard for participation in the 2021 European Junior Cup in Wels.

The Vorchdorf native already showed his talent during the swim. With the third fastest swim time of the day, he laid the foundation for this great success and was able to complete the 800m in a new personal best of 09:16.1. In the final 5 km run, which was started in the Gundersen method, the triathlon ace left no stone unturned. Lap after lap he was able to catch up with the leader and finally won second place in an overall time of 25:25.17.

The 5 km run time of 16:09,07 does not mean a new personal best, but due to the weather conditions this time is also very impressive. "After the swimmer Stefan Wipplinger, the triathletes Dominik Exel and Alexander Bründl, the 1. Welser Schwimmklub is proud to have Thomas Windischbauer as an international starter in the club. We are especially pleased that we, as the organising club, can present a triathlete from our own ranks at the Junior European Cup in Wels," said Thomas Alt of the 1. Welser Schwimmklub.

Started triathlon in 2013

blank
Thomas Windischbauer showed his talent already at a young age

At the age of 9, the Vorchdorf native started his triathlon career. Due to the running enthusiasm of his parents Petra and Karl Windischbauer, the first discipline Thomas learned in a club was running. During the running training at Union Vorchdorf the triathlon talent developed his enthusiasm for exercise and competitive sports at a very early age. After several running competitions, the then 9-year-old tried his hand at triathlon for the first time as part of the Upper Austrian Power Kids Cup, a talent scouting programme of the Upper Austrian Triathlon Association. Thomas immediately took a liking to triathlon and without any specific triathlon training, he immediately finished second in the overall ranking of the Power Kids Cup.

Subsequently, he was invited by the then sports director of the Upper Austrian Triathlon Association, Thomas Alt, to attend a training session, where he finally started his triathlon training. After several top placings at Austrian championships in triathlon and aquathlon in various age groups, Thomas Windischbauer ventured into the Linz-Gugl Olympic Centre at the age of 15 and has been training for his ambitious goals under professional conditions ever since.

First start at the starlim City Triathlon Austria Wels

Start beim starlim City Triathlon Austria
Thomas Windischbauer: "I am looking forward to my first start at the starlim City Triathlon Austria in Wels".

For Thomas Windischbauer the participation in the Junior European Cup in Wels also means the first start at the starlim City Triathlon Austria Wels. So far it has either not worked out due to competition overlaps, or at the event premiere in 2018 Thomas was still too young to participate in a sprint distance in triathlon. "The starlim City Triathlon Austria in Wels is definitely the highlight in this year's competition calendar for me. I am really happy to be able to compete in an international race at my home", says the triathlete.

Thomas can especially look forward to the new course., which was redesigned especially for the Junior European Cup. The Highlights are absolutely worthy of a city triathlon. Starting with the river swimming, the transition area in the Stadthallenpark, to the bike criterium in the city and the final run through the old town of Wels and the picturesque Burggarten, everything is prepared for a modern multi-lap competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Veranstalterverein 1. WSK jubelt

Triathlet Thomas Windischbauer jubelt

Thomas Windischbauer vom 1. Welser Schwimmklub hat die Norm für den Junioren Europacup in Wels erfüllt. Das OK-Team des starlim City Triathlon Austria Wels jubelt: „Unglaublich, dass wir neben der Austragung des J-EC nun auch noch einen Triathleten aus den eigenen Reihen stellen dürfen!“

Der 1. Welser Schwimmklub, der den „starlim City TRIATHLON AUSTRIA Wels“ und im Rahmen dessen auch den Junioren Europacup organsiert, verfolgte mit Spannung den heutigen ÖTRV Cup in der Südstadt. Beim Swim&Run Bewerb des österreichischen Triathlonverbandes waren Limitzeiten in den Einzeldisziplinen und bei der Gesamtzeit gefordert. Mit dabei der 17-jährige 1. WSKler Thomas Windischbauer, der die Norm zur Teilnahme an dem Junioren- Europacup 2021 für Wels erfüllt hat.

Schon beim Schwimmen zeigte der Vorchdorfer sein Talent. Mit der drittschnellsten Schwimmzeit des Tages legte er den Grundstein für diesen tollen Erfolg und konnte die 800m in neuer persönlicher Bestleistung von 09:16,1 absolvieren. Beim abschließenden 5 Km Lauf, der in der Gundersen-Methode gestartet wurde, ließ das Triathlon-Ass nichts mehr anbrennen. Runde für Runde konnte er auf den Führenden aufschließen und schlussendlich in einer Gesamtzeit von 25:25,17 den zweiten Platz gewinnen.

Die 5 Km Laufzeit von 16:09,07 bedeuten zwar keine neue persönliche Bestleistung aber aufgrund der Wetterverhältnisse ist diese Zeit ebenfalls sehr stark einzuschätzen. „Der 1. Welser Schwimmklub ist stolz nach dem Schwimmer Stefan Wipplinger, den Triathleten Dominik Exel und Alexander Bründl nun mit Thomas Windischbauer wieder einen internationalen Starter im Verein zu haben. Vor allem freut uns, dass wir als Veranstalterverein beim Junioren Europacup in Wels einen Triathleten aus den eigenen Reihen stellen dürfen“, so Thomas Alt vom 1. Welser Schwimmklub.

2013 in den Triathlonsport eingestiegen

blank
Thomas Windischbauer zeigte schon in jungen Jahren sein Talent

Im Alter von 9 Jahren startete der gebürtige Vorchdorfer seine Triathlonkarriere. Aufgrund der Laufbegeisterung seiner Eltern Petra und Karl Windischbauer war die erste Disziplin, die Thomas in einem Verein erlernte, das Laufen. Im Rahmen des Lauftrainings bei der Union Vorchdorf entwickelte das Triathlontalent seine Begeisterung für Bewegung und den Wettkampfsport schon sehr früh. Nach mehreren Laufbewerben versuchte sich der damals 9-Jährige zum ersten Mal bei einigen Triathlonbewerben im Rahme des OÖ Power Kids Cups, einem Talentscouting Programm des OÖ-Triathlonverbandes. Thomas fand sofort Gefallen am Triathlon und ohne spezifisches Triathlontraining gelang ihm auf Anhieb Platz 2 in der Gesamtwertung des Power Kids Cups.

In weiterer Folge wurde er vom damaligen Sportdirektor des Oberösterreichischen Triathlonverbandes Thomas Alt zu einem Sichtungstraining eingeladen, wo schlussendlich der Startschuss für den Einstieg in das Triathlontraining fiel. Nach mehreren Top Platzierungen bei österreichischen Meisterschaften im Triathlon und Aquathlon in diversen Altersklassen wagte Thomas Windischbauer mit 15 Jahren den Schritt in das Olympiazentrum Linz-Gugl und trainiert seit dem unter professionellen Bedingungen für seine hochgesteckten Ziele.

Erster Start beim starlim City Triathlon Austria Wels

Start beim starlim City Triathlon Austria
Thomas Windischbauer: „Ich freue mich schon auf meinem ersten Start beim starlim City Triathlon Austria in Wels“

Für Thomas Windischbauer bedeutet die Teilnahme am Junioren Europacup in Wels auch gleichzeitig den ersten Start beim starlim City Triathlon Austria Wels. Bislang hat es entweder aufgrund terminlicher Wettkampf Überschneidungen nicht geklappt, bzw. bei der Veranstaltungspremiere 2018 war Thomas noch zu jung um an einer Sprint Distanz im Triathlon teilnehmen. zu dürfen „Der starlim City Triathlon Austria in Wels stellt definitiv das Highlight im heurigen Wettkampfkalender bei mir dar. Ich freue mich irrsinnig bei mir zuhause bei einem internationalen Rennen an den Start gehen zu dürfen“, so der Triathlet.

Freuen darf sich Thomas vor allem auf die neue Streckenführung, die eigens für den Junioren Europacup neu gestaltet wurde. Die Highlights sind eines City Triathlons absolut würdig. Angefangen beim River Swimming, der Wechselzone im Stadthallenpark, bis hin zum Radkriterium in der Stadt und dem abschließenden Lauf durch die Welser Altstadt und dem malerischen Burggarten ist alles für einen modernen Multi-Lap Bewerb aufbereitet.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.