Skip to content

Flo Brungraber

Interview von Florian Brungraber

Flo Brungraber is an enthusiastic athlete and triathlete. The silver medallist at the Paralympics in Tokyo 2021 has already competed very successfully twice at the starlim City Triathlon Austria Wels. Reason enough to introduce the exceptional triathlete from Upper Austria and ask him for an interview.

WHAT DO YOU PARTICULARLY LIKE ABOUT THE WELS TRIATHLON?

The Wels Triathlon is also relatively accessible for me in a wheelchair. In addition, it offers fast courses, both in the swim with current in the Traun as well as a city criterium-like bike course and a flat run course.

WHAT WAS YOUR FIRST TRIATHLON AND WHAT MEMORIES DO YOU HAVE OF IT?

It was the FH OÖ Linz-Triathlon / sprint in 2014. When I crossed the finish line it was clear that this was exactly what I wanted to do. Even then, some friends had come especially to cheer me on. Of course, the first triathlon will be remembered forever.

HAS TRIATHLON ALWAYS BEEN YOUR PASSION, OR HOW DID YOU GET THE IDEA TO DO THIS SPORT AFTER YOUR ACCIDENT?

I went from aqua jogging to swimming through therapy. At the end of 2013, I bought a handbike because it's a very low-maintenance sport, and after taking part in the Oberbank Linz Marathon, I dared to compete in a triathlon without having any experience on a racing wheelchair.

Flo Brungraber beim Wels Triathlon 2020
Flo Brungraber at the Wels Triathlon 2020

ELL US ABOUT YOUR DAILY LIFE - HOW DO YOU ORGANISE YOUR TRAINING, WORK AND PRIVATE LIFE?

From Monday to Thursday I work at Andritz. On these days I train in the afternoon or evening. Friday to Sunday are the days with several or longer sessions. Of course there is also a private life! That takes place before, in between and after (laughs). I like to spend it with my girlfriend, family and friends.

HOW BIG IS YOUR TEAM OF COACHES AND WHO ARE YOUR TRAINERS?

My coaching team has grown a lot, especially in the last two years. My coach has recently been Lukas Abpfolter. As for my handlers, who help me during the race, I now have the choice between my father Gottfried and my girlfriend Sabine. Medially and beyond that, I work together with Christian Troll. Physio is Anja Oyrer and strength coach Vinzenz Helmreich. I would also like to mention our regional association here in Oberösterreich and the ÖTRV möchte ich hier nicht unerwähnt lassen.

YOUR BIGGEST SPORTING SUCCESS SO FAR WAS THE SILVER MEDAL IN TOKYO - HOW DID YOU GENERALLY EXPERIENCE THE GAMES, HOW WAS THE ATMOSPHERE IN THE TEAM AND WERE YOU ABLE TO CHEER ON OTHER ATHLETES?

The Games were absolutely the biggest sporting highlight to date. The dimensions and scope of this event are breathtaking and of course the city itself. The atmosphere in the team was good, with Günther Matzinger and his coach Franz Lugstein I was with friends. Unfortunately, visiting other sports venues was not possible for us due to Corona. But in the village we watched some of the other competitions together and celebrated our achievements later.

Zieleinlauf Flo Brungraber
Flo Brungraber at the finish line Tokyo 2021

DO YOU HAVE A MOTTO OR WHAT CAN YOU PASS ON TO OTHER TRIATHLETES?

My motto is: "keep going"! I can only pass on to other triathletes that it has to be fun!

WHAT GOALS HAVE YOU SET FOR YOUR FUTURE CAREER?

In the long term, the focus is already on Paris 2024. That is the goal! In terms of performance, I would like to develop further and optimise one or two things on the material side.

WHEN CAN WE SEE YOU ON THE START LINE AGAIN IN WELS?

I hope soon. Unfortunately it doesn't look so good for this year because there is a World Cup race in France on the same weekend. If there is a change in this date, I will of course be at the start in Wels.

PROFILE FLO BRUNGRABER:

Born on:  29.09.1984
Place of residence: Lasberg
Occupation: Project manager for hydroelectric power plants
Height: 186 cm
Weight: 66 Kg
Clubs: Tripower Wimberger Freistadt / Upper Austria
		         RSC Heindl / Upper Austria
                         Wings for Life Ambassador
Web:	         www.flobrungraber.at 

Up-to-date information on Facebook and Instagram.
Flo Brungraber Portrait
Portrait of Flo Brungraber

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Zum Inhalt

Flo Brungraber

Interview von Florian Brungraber

Flo Brungraber ist begeisterter Sportler und Triathlet. Der Silbermedaillengewinner der Paralympics in Tokio 2021 startete bereits sehr erfolgreich zweimal beim starlim City Triathlon Austria Wels. Anlass genug, den Ausnahme-Triathleten aus Oberösterreich vorzustellen und ihn zum Interview zu bitten.

Was gefällt dir besonders beim Wels Triathlon?

Der Wels Triathlon ist auch für mich im Rolli relativ gut zugänglich. Darüber hinaus bietet er schnelle Strecken, sowohl beim Schwimmen mit Strömung in der Traun als auch einen Stadtkriterium ähnlichen Radkurs und eine flache Laufstrecke.

Was war dein erster Triathlon und welche Erinnerungen verbindest du damit?

Das war der FH OÖ Linz-Triathlon / Sprint 2014. Beim Überqueren der Ziellinie war klar, dass das genau das ist, was ich machen will. Auch damals waren einige Freunde extra zum Anfeuern gekommen. Der erste Triathlon bleibt natürlich ewig in Erinnerung.

War Triathlon schon immer deine Leidenschaft, bzw. wie bist du nach deinem Unfall auf die Idee gekommen diesen Sport auszuführen?

Durch die Therapie bin ich vom Aquajogging zum Schwimmen gekommen. Ende 2013 habe ich mir dann ein Handbike zugelegt, weil das eine sehr pflegeleichte Sportart ist und nach einer Teillahme beim Oberbank Linz Marathon traute ich mich bei einem Triathlon an den Start zu gehen, ohne Erfahrungen am Rennrolli zu haben.

Flo Brungraber beim Wels Triathlon 2020
Flo Brungraber beim Wels Triathlon 2020

Erzähl uns etwas über deinen Alltag – Wie organisierst du Training, Beruf und dein Privatleben?

Von Montag bis Donnerstag gehe ich meinen beruflichen Tätigkeiten bei der Andritz nach. An diesen Tagen trainiere ich am Nachmittag bzw. am Abend. Freitag bis Sonntag sind dann die Tage mit mehreren bzw. längeren Einheiten. Privatleben gibt es natürlich auch! Das findet dann davor, dazwischen und danach statt (lacht). Ich verbringe es gerne mit meiner Freundin, Familie und Freunden.

Wie groß ist dein Betreuerteam, bzw. wer sind deine Trainer*innen?

Mein Betreuerteam ist vor allem in den letzten beiden Jahren gut gewachsen. Mein Coach ist seit kurzem Lukas Abpfolter. Bei meinen Handlern, die mir beim Rennen helfen, habe ich mittlerweile die Auswahl zwischen meinem Vater Gottfried und meiner Freundin Sabine. Medial und darüber hinaus arbeite ich mit Christian Troll zusammen. Physio ist Anja Oyrer und Kraftcoach Vinzenz Helmreich. Auch unseren Landesverband hier in Oberösterreich und den ÖTRV möchte ich hier nicht unerwähnt lassen.

Dein bisher größter sportlicher Erfolg war die Silbermedaille in Tokio – Wie hast du generell die Spiele erlebt, wie war die Stimmung im Team und konntest du andere Athleten*innen anfeuern?

Die Spiele waren absolut das größte sportliche Highlight bis dato. Die Dimensionen und Reichweite dieser Veranstaltung ist atemberaubend und natürlich auch von der Stadt selbst. Im Team war die Stimmung gut, mit Günther Matzinger und seinem Coach Franz Lugstein war ich mit Freunden unterwegs. Das Besuchen von anderen Sportstätten war uns leider Corona-bedingt nicht möglich. Aber im Dorf wurden gemeinsam Teils andere Bewerbe verfolgt und die Leistungen dann später auch gefeiert.

Zieleinlauf Flo Brungraber
Flo Brungraber beim Zieleinlauf Tokio 2021

Hast du ein Motto bzw. was kannst du anderen Triathleten mit auf den Weg geben?

Mein Motto lautet: „weiterGEHEN“! Anderen Triathleten kann ich nur weitergeben, dass es Spaß machen muss!

Welche Ziele hast du dir für deine weitere Karriere gesteckt?

Langfristig liegt der Fokus bereits jetzt auf Paris 2024. Das ist das Ziel! Leistungstechnisch möchte ich mich weiterentwickeln und auf der Materialseite das ein oder andere dafür noch optimieren.

Wann dürfen wir dich in Wels wieder an der Startlinie sehen?

Ich hoffe bald. Für dieses Jahr schaut es aktuell leider nicht so gut aus, weil am selben Wochenende ein Weltcuprennen in Frankreich ist. Sollte sich an diesem Termin etwas ändern, bin ich natürlich in Wels am Start.

Steckbrief Flo Brungraber:

Geboren am:  29.09.1984
Wohnort:         Lasberg
Beruf:              Projektleiter für Wasserkraftwerke
Größe:            186 cm
Gewicht:          66 Kg
Vereine:	        Tripower Wimberger Freistadt / OÖ
		         RSC Heindl / OÖ
                         Wings for Life Botschafter
Web:	         www.flobrungraber.at 

Aktuelle Infos auch immer auf Facebook und Instagram.
Flo Brungraber Portrait
Flo Brungraber im Portrait

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.